So why “My Everlasting Joy”?

Welcome, friends! Thanks for stopping by! I appreciate your taking the time to drop in. As you may have already noticed, I have a paged titled “About the Author + Blog”, and on that page I have explained the inspiration behind this blog. In this first post, I hope to expound more on the inspiration behind this blog – specifically Isaiah 61 and why we can have an everlasting joy.

Isaiah 61:1-3 directly speaks of Christ. In Luke 4, Christ reads this passage, proclaiming that He is the One who is the Good News, The Binding of the brokenhearted, True Liberty, and the Opening of those locked in a prison.

Before coming to know Christ as our Savior, we are brokenhearted, captive and in prison. We have no hope apart from Jesus Christ. We are bound by sin (John 8:34). Until Christ comes and loosens our bonds, we are shackled to death.

So when Christ shows us His saving power – our  ashes are turned to a beautiful headdress, our mourning is turned into the oil of gladness, our faint spirit is turned into a garment of praise – we ought to resound with joy to this Almighty King! Our response ought to be what is stated in Isaiah 61:10

“I will greatly rejoice in the Lord; my soul shall exult in my God” 

Since our joy is founded on Christ, One who we know as “continuing forever” (Hebrews 7:24) and “the same yesterday, today and forever” (Hebrews 13:8) we can therefore say that we have “an everlasting joy”! It isn’t a joy rooted on circumstance and situations that come our way. It is rooted on Christ alone.

Because of that truth, we know that when we come to know Christ more, it will result in further joy in Him. The purpose of this blog is to share the joy of Christ that I have in my own heart with you and to share what the Lord is teaching me, which results in further joy. I don’t want my Christianity to be one of daily rituals, traditions and mere head knowledge. I want to know Christ to the fullness – a vibrant and living relationship with my Savior!

A. W. Tozer put it very well – ““The people of God ought to be the happiest people in all the wide world! People should be coming to us constantly and asking the source of our joy and delight.”

Thank you for joining me on this journey! I pray it will be a blessing to you but mostly that you would grow in your joy of Christ!

Leave a Reply

