My Theme Verse | Part 1, 2016

A couple years ago, I started a tradition with a friend to pick a theme verse/passage to really focus on for the coming year. We normally choose a passage that has stood out to us the past couple months. Throughout the year, we would talk and share with each other all that the Lord had been teaching us from our passage – whether a new insight, struggles or victories we had seen.

Last year my verse was Proverbs 3:5. While it almost seems cliché in Christian circles – printed on journals covers, bookmarks, card designs, etc. – I came to realize at the end of 2016 that “trusting in the Lord” is not just a simple concept. It is not something that that someone decides to do, and then it naturally happens in a person’s life. As I learned through the year, trusting in the Lord is a huge topic. It permeated so many areas of my life – actually, every single one of them. Meditating on this has opened my eyes to the utmost necessity of giving all over to God, believing that He can carry all my cares, burdens, plans and ideas much better than I ever could.

Something I noticed that started to happen was that in my Bible reading each day it became normal to look for verses that specifically tied into my theme verse and characteristics of God that especially encouraged/challenged me. For example, verses on having God be my help really motivated me to make sure that I wasn’t relying on myself or trusting in myself to carry things through.

“My help comes from the LORD, who made heaven and earth. ” -Psalm 121:2

And verses that talked about God being faithful or sovereign, encouraged me that He was never going to forget me or not carry through on something that I had trusted Him about.

“…the faithfulness of the LORD endures forever. Praise the LORD!” -Psalm 117:2b  

I like to have a theme verse because it gives me something to pray throughout the year and to see how the Lord is working in my life in a specific way. At the root of it all, I want to know God more. So I urge you as you start a new year – make it your resolve now to seek God and to know Him more. If finding a verse that God seems to be teaching you about will motivate you, then believe it and pray for God to form it in you this coming year. And may you grow in your awe and joy of God in light of seeking His face!

In my next post I want to share with you all my passage for this year. I’m excited about all that the Lord will teach me through it!

Happy 2017, friends!

One thought on “My Theme Verse | Part 1, 2016

Leave a Reply

