My Theme Verse | Part 2, 2017

In my last post I shared about the tradition that I started to pick a passage each year to really meditate on and pray over. It has encouraged me each year to have something specific to be seeking the Lord about. And now I’m here to share my passage for 2017!

I’ve recently been memorizing in the book of Hebrews and have come across so many excellent truths inside! How can you not sit in wonder at Hebrews 1? God has spoken to us through His Son – Jesus Christ! – while the men of old only had the prophets to hear God’s Word. Or, what about Hebrews 3? Jesus is called the apostle and high priest of our confession and has far more glory and honor than Moses ever had! In Hebrews 9, we are told that Jesus shed His own blood to purify our conscience from dead works! Praise the Lord for these truth-packed chapters!

In light of all of that, I knew that my theme verse for this year had to come from Hebrews. In the past year, the Lord has started to teach me a lot more about faith, promises, waiting on Him, and diligence in my Christian walk. What better passage to sum all those ideas up than Hebrews 6:11-12?!

“…And we desire each one of you to show the same earnestness to have the full assurance of hope until the end, so that you may not be sluggish, but imitators of those who through faith and patience inherit the promises.”

After these verses, the chapter continues with the miraculous story of Abraham. The man who waited 25 years to see God’s promise fulfilled to him. He had to wait. He had to have faith in God’s character and word. He had to believe. And because of all that, this verse was written of him:

“And thus Abraham, having patiently waited, obtained the promise.”

Abraham was not passive in his belief toward God. He even had to go to God and tell Him of his unbelief (Genesis 15), and asked that Ishmael would live before the Lord. Believing the promise might have not been easy, but oh, what a glorious thing when all was fulfilled! And what a glorious, though maybe hard, journey to rely on the Lord for a specific promise!

With a new year ahead of us, I pray that the Lord would use this passage in my life dramatically. I want to have earnestness in my walk with God. Jesus called us to come, die, and carry a cross, not to come and live our lives with comfort and ease. I want to have “full assurance of hope until the end”. I don’t want to fall into sluggishness. I want to imitate those men and women of the faith who came before me.

And yet, I recognize at the root of it all – God must be the one who works. I can’t form these things in myself. I can’t just change myself overnight. God must do it. And what a blessed thing because God knows what is best. He knows exactly what joys and trials I must encounter to teach me these things. And through it all, He will give me the strength and endurance I need to face all that He brings along. And through it all, I realize that it all ties back into my last post of trusting in the Lord! Relying on Him, that He, in His sovereignty, knows what is best for me as I learn these lessons.

“…whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.”

One thought on “My Theme Verse | Part 2, 2017

Leave a Reply

